No asset management system has "enough" fields right out of the box. There will always be situations when you want to store additional information for a device, product, user, or location that we didn't think about. The solution is to define custom fields for this information.
Required access rights
In order to define or change custom fields you must be a member of a group that has the "Master Data" permission.
Defining custom fields
To define a custom field, go to INVENTORY/EXTENDED and select the Custom Fields tab.
You can define custom fields for various areas:
- Device: Information related to individual devices as stored in the device inventory. An example is the mean time to recover for a device.
- Hardware: Information related to a specific hardware product. An example is the mean time between failures for a product.
- Software: Information related to a specific software product. An example is a link to a license agreement.
- Location: Information related to locations. An example is a link to a floor plan.
- User: Information related to an individual user. An example is a staff ID as stored in an HR management system.
The text that you enter in the description field will show up in a tooltip when the user hovers over the field name in dialogs and profiles.
Custom fields can either be free text or selection based. When you choose "Selection", you can enter the legal values for the field in the field definition. For manual edits, the legal values will be presented to the user as a drop-down menu.
Editing custom field content
Users can edit custom field content in different ways.
For locations, custom fields are always listed at the bottom of the edit pane.
For any other area, custom fields can be accessed in the Extended tab of the edit dialog.
Note that the content of custom fields can also be changed using the REST API.
Custom fields in profiles
Your custom fields will show up in profiles in the Extended section.
Custom field data is subject to versioning and will show up in a device's timeline.
Editing and deleting custom field definitions
You can change custom field names later without losing any content.
Note that if you delete a custom field definition, any content will be lost forever.